Our Collection

At the Institute’s core is the Gilder Lehrman Collection, one of the great archives in American history. More than 70,000 items cover five hundred years of American history, from Columbus’s 1493 letter describing the New World to soldiers’ letters from World War II and Vietnam. Explore primary sources, visit exhibitions in person or online, or bring your class on a field trip.

Lincoln, Abraham (1809-1865) Elections in Sangamon County, Illinois, for State Representatives...

High-resolution images are available to schools and libraries via subscription to American History, 1493-1943. Check to see if your school or library already has a subscription. Or click here for more information. You may also request a pdf of the image from us here.

Gilder Lehrman Collection #: GLC01978 Author/Creator: Lincoln, Abraham (1809-1865) Place Written: [Springfield] Type: Autograph manuscript signed Date: [1842/09/09] Pagination: 3 p. ; 32 x 21 cm

A high-resolution version of this object is available for registered users. LOG IN or SUBSCRIBE

Summary of Content: Said to have been presented to his fiance Mary Todd, listing election results for 1832, 1834 and 1836. Lincoln has signed his name three times, once for each time he ran. Attested by clerk Noah W. Matheny, pages 2-3, with seal on p. 3. See Sandburg, Lincoln Collector, p. 141, and H. Pratt, Lincoln Day by Day, for 9/9/1842. Basler, Roy P. The Collected Works of Abraham Lincoln. (New Brunswick, New Jersey: Rutgers University Press, 1953), Vol. I 1824 - 1848, p. 297-299

Full Transcript: Elections in Sangamon county, Illinois, for state Representatives in the years 1832, 1834 & 1836.
E. D. Taylor. Dem. 1127 |
J. T. Stuart. Whig. 991 |Elected
Achs.. Morris. Dem. 945 |
Peter Cartwright Dem. 815 |
A. G. Herndon Dem. 806
...Wm. Carpenter Dem. 774
John Dawson Dem. 717
A. Lincoln Whig 657
T. M. Neale Whig 593
Richard Quinton Dem. 485
Zach. Peter Whig 216
Edwd. Robinson Whig 169
Wm. Kirkpatrick. Dem. 44 -
John Dawson. Dem. 1390 |
A. Lincoln. Whig 1376 |Elected
Wm. Carpenter Dem. 1170 |
J. T. S[t]uart Whig 1164 |
Richd. Quinton Dem. 1038
Andw. McCormick Whig. 694
Wm. Alvey Whig. 613
T. M. Neale Whig. 514
S. J. Campbell Dem 192
James Shepherd Dem. 154
James Baker Whig 130
John Durley Whig 92
Wm. Kendoll Whig 42.
A. Lincoln Whig 1716 |
W. F. Elkin Whig. 1694 |
N W Edwards Whig. 1659 |Elected
John Dawson Whig. 1641 |
Dan Stone Whig. 1438 |
R. L. Wilson Whig. 1353 |
Andw. McCormick Whig. 1306 |
John Calhoun Dem. 1278
J. M. Early Dem. 1194
Richd. Quinton Dem. 1137
Thos. Wynne. Dem. 972
Aaron Vandaveer Dem. 922
Uriah Mann Dem. 913
Geo. Power Dem. 905
James Baker Whig. 101
J. L. Thompson Dem. 38
T. Young Whig. 12 -
[Clerk's certification:]
State of Illinois
Sangamon County
I Noah W Matheny, Clerk of the County Commissioners Court for Sangamon County, do hereby certify that the foregoing statement contains a true abstracts [sic] of the votes given for Representatives from the County of Sangamon to the Legislature of the State of Illinois at the Election in the years therein named as appears from the Poll Books on file in my office, and their Polities [?] are correct as marked in the foregoing statement as they were understood in this County.
In testimony whereof I have [4] here unto subscribed my name and affixed the seal of my office at Springfield in said county this 9th day of September In the year of our Lord one thousand Eight hundred and Forty two
N W Matheny, Clerk Co
Coms Court Sangamon Co Illinois
See More

People: Lincoln, Abraham, 1809-1865

Historical Era: National Expansion and Reform, 1815-1860

Subjects: ElectionPresidentGovernment and CivicsWomen's HistoryPolitics

Sub Era: Lincoln

Order a Copy Citation Guidelines for Online Resources